Showing all 4 results

Ilustrado

$20.00

‘A dazzling and virtuosic adventure’ Joseph O’Connor, author of Star of the Sea

Internationally Bestselling Winner of the Man Asian Literary Prize 2008

‘With Ilustrado, Miguel Syjuco obliges us to remake the canons of our great classics of contemporary literature. Ilustrado is, literally, a masterpiece’ Alberto Manguel

It begins with a body. One anonymous winter day, the corpse of Crispin Salvador is pulled from the Hudson River. Gone is the controversial giant of Asian literature. And missing is the only manuscript of his final book, an expose of the corrupt roots of the ruling Filipino families, meant to restore his once dazzling reputation. His student, Miguel, is suspicious of the suicide verdict. He investigates: first sifting through the dead man’s work for clues, then journeying from New York to Manila, seeking out family, colleagues, and anyone who might hold pieces of the puzzle.

But when Miguel assembles the fragments of his mentor’s past, this ambitious and rewarding novel expands into far wider contexts – political, social, historical, literary. As patterns emerge, the mystery of a death deepens into the greater mysteries of life – and the reader makes increasingly significant discoveries of their own, until the startling revelation of the final page.

Life Isn’t All Ha Ha Hee Hee 1st Edition

$27.50

Meer Syal has created an indelible portrait of a close-knit group of Indian women living in London. Caught between two cultures, three childhood friends Chila, Sunita, and Tania are expected to revert to being obedient mothers and wives. But their world explodes when Tania makes a documentary, starring Chila and Sunita, about contemporary urban Indian Life. The result is an unforgettable story of friendship, marriage, betrayal, and the difficult choices woman face.”

About the Author

Meera Syal, a British-born Indian, is a writer and actress. Her first novel, “Anita and Me,” won a Betty Trask award and was short-listed for the “Guardian” Fiction Prize. She lives in London.

Ponti

$20.90

Set in Singapore, and spanning fifty years, Ponti is a sweeping story of three women and the guilt that ties them to each other. For fans of Zadie Smith and Elena Ferrante.

The Sixth Extinction

$28.10

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE ONE OF THE NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW’S 10 BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER A NATIONAL BOOK CRITICS CIRCLE AWARD FINALIST A major book about the future of the world, blending intellectual and natural history and field reporting into a powerful account of the mass extinction unfolding before our eyes Over the last half-billion years, there have been Five mass extinctions, when the diversity of life on earth suddenly and dramatically contracted. Scientists around the world are currently monitoring the sixth extinction, predicted to be the most devastating extinction event since the asteroid impact that wiped out the dinosaurs. This time around, the cataclysm is us. In prose that is at once frank, entertaining, and deeply informed, New Yorker writer Elizabeth Kolbert tells us why and how human beings have altered life on the planet in a way no species has before. Interweaving research in half a dozen disciplines, descriptions of the fascinating species that have already been lost, and the history of extinction as a concept, Kolbert provides a moving and comprehensive account of the disappearances occurring before our very eyes. She shows that the sixth extinction is likely to be mankind’s most lasting legacy, compelling us to rethink the fundamental question of what it means to be human.